A Dog, to whom the butcher had thrown a bone, was hurrying home with his prize as fast as he could go. As he crossed a narrow footbridge, he happened to look down and saw himself reflected in the still water below, as clearly as in a mirror. But the greedy Dog thought he was looking at another dog carrying a bone much bigger than his own.
If he had stopped to think, he would have known better. But instead of thinking, he dropped his bone and lunged at the dog in the river, only to find himself swimming for his life to reach the shore. At last he scrambled out, and as he stood dripping and miserable on the bank, he realized what a fool he had been.
His own bone was gone, carried away by the current. And the other dog and the bigger bone had never existed at all. - Aesop
🏒🏒🏒🏒🏒🏒🏒🏒🏒🏒🏒🏒🏒🏒🏒
Lots of Canadiens fans...and those who eat up endless hours of airtime talking about the Canadiens... this season are on the same wavelength as Aesop's greedy dog.
Their team hasn't won a Stanley Cup in 33 years. They haven't had a fifty-goal-scorer or a one-hundred-point producer in longer than that. Until this past spring and the arrival of Lane Hutson, no Habs player had won the Calder Trophy since Ken Dryden in 1972.
This is a time to appreciate the team Montreal leadership is building. The Habs are young, fast and score a ton of goals. It's fun and exciting to watch them, knowing they'll never quit. It's joyful to see the players smile, and the little rituals of friendship that are the building blocks of a real winning team. Fans should be happy at last.
So, to hear them complain about Martin St.Louis failing to coach a better defensive system, listening to them give up on this player or that one, or the need to trade Kaiden Guhle for a second-line centre is frustrating for fellow Habs supporters who want to feel good about their team.
Since the trade deadline has passed, at least there are no more suggestions of signing Nazem Kadri or trading for Alexis Lafreniere. Still, though pundits like to go on about how Ivan Demidov is slumping and Mike Matheson is used too much. They talk about how the Habs aren't tough enough and without more size will do nothing in the playoffs. Or how going into the postseason with two rookie goalies is a bad idea. Or whether the team will be playing into the late spring at all. They're rehashing done deals like Logan Mailloux for Zach Bolduc as though their crystal balls are shinier than Kent Hughes'.
🏒🏒🏒🏒🏒🏒🏒🏒🏒🏒🏒🏒🏒🏒🏒
Critical fans, problematic management and overly-zealous media have chased players out of Montreal in the past. Patrick Roy. John LeClair. Jose Theodore. P.K.Subban. They booed Carey Price in preseason. Canadiens fans are tough on their team out of love, allegedly, but how can you love a team you seem to hate?
And why bother tossing speculation and judgement around? Hughes is not listening to you. Other Habs' GMs have succumbed to public pressure and jumped too unwisely on moves they should never have made (Scott Gomez, I see you there) but Hughes is made of different stuff. He's not going to be pushed into action by anybody outside his bubble. So critics who want to pick this roster apart should perhaps consider looking for a perfect team to support or report about instead of wasting their breath crapping on this one.
The Canadiens are not perfect by a long shot. They have holes in the roster. They still have learning to do before they win it all. But they're growing up together and for fans who've been with them for the long haul, it's a joy to see.
If old Aesop taught us anything with his fable of the dog and his reflection it's that always craving the bigger, juicier bone means ignoring the bone you already have. And if you're not careful, you can end up with no bone at all.







